New Mayor of Patna - Afjal Imam


In a big moment, Afjal Imam from Patna City, Councillor of Ward number 52,  has been again elected as the Mayor of Patna Municipal Corporation. This is the second consecutive time of his being selected as a mayor. Roop Narayan Mehta won the post of Deputy Mayor of the city.

District Magistrate Manoj Kumar supervised the election procedure for Mayor and Deputy Mayor selection held today. Afjal Imam secured 41 votes against the former Mayor, Sanjay Kumar, who could only get 29 votes, thus securing a one sided victory by a margin of 12 votes. Out of 72 wards Councillor votes, two votes were found invalid. On the other side, Roop Narayan Mehta defeated current Deputy Mayor, Vinay Kumar Pappu by 10 votes.  Roop Narayan got 41 votes while Vinay could get only 10 votes.  Newly elected mayor and deputy mayor had the support of United Parishad Morcha constituted by a major section of the PMC ward Councillors who had ousted both Sanjay Kumar and Santosh Kumar Mehta from the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively through a No-Confidence motion on July 14, 2009. The lost ones, Sanjay Kumar and Roop Narayan Mehta had the support of Loktantrik Morcha.

Earlier, Afjal Imam was the Ward Councillor in 2002 and 2007 PMC election. He lost the Mayoral election in 2007, however he won it on May 3, 2010. He was elected for the second consecutive term today. Like him, Roop Narayan Mehta also won the 2002 and 2007 ward election, however in 2007, he lost the Deputy Mayoral election.

City has put on several expectations from the newly elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor, as it is facing problems at several front. Of course, their first challenge will be tacking the water logging problem in several part of the city in the coming monsoon, which is likely to hit at the end of this week.