PUSU election 2012

The Student union of Patna University added a new chapter when the newly elected members of Patna University Student Union (PUSU) took oath of the office at a function held at the historic Wheeler Senate Hall this week. The election for the various posts of the union were held earlier this month after a gap of 28 years.

The elected representatives took oath under the University Act and pledged to act in the interest of the PU student while preserving the good name of the University, in the presence of several officials including Vice Chairman. While addressing the newly elected representative, Vice Chairman said that PUSU would have its own office within the campus, and three of its representatives would be part of the University Sports, Cultural and Debating committee. There would be a meeting between the VC and Union leaders in the first week of every month. During the meeting, the two parties would discuss various issues faced by the student and bilateral decision would be taken to resolve those problems.

Earlier this year, the government decided to revive the PUSU election, which has been discontinued after 1984. This initiative brought lot of enthusiasm among 18000 student of the university. A total of 165 candidates were in fray for 24 posts, including top 5 posts. They were backed by several student organisations like Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarathi Parishad (ABVP), All India Student Federation (AISF), Chhatra Janata Dal(United), Chhatra RJD and others. 55 voting centres across various colleges of the university manned by 700 police personnels represented electrifying situation buzzing with electoral activities. Close to 60% voting was reported. Patna Science College recorded the highest voters turnout, whereas Patna Women's College could get only 28% voting, the lowest. Ashish Sinha of Patna Law College won the post of the President of the Union. The other representatives are:

  • General Secretary - Anshu Kumari
  • Vice President - Anshuman
  • Secretary - Anupriya
  • Treasurer - Abhishek Gupta
  • Executive members are : Amrita Sinha and Nancy (Patna Womens College), Anushka Arya and Pallavi (Magadh Mahila), Amrikesh Kumar Gulsan and Nikhil Chakravarty (A N College), Abhishek Kumar and Kumar Abhishek (Science College), Ritwik Raj and Vinay Kumar Yadav (Patna College), Rakesh Kumar (College of Arts and Crafts), Priyanka Singh (Womens Training College), Deep Narayan Kumar (Patna Training College), Puja Kumari (Vanijya Mahavidyalaya), Himanshu Kymar Yadav (Patna Law College), Ravi Kumar ( Science Faculty), Ram Kumar Singh ( Social Science Faculty), Ramesh Kumar (Humanities), Vidyanand Kumar (Commerce Education & Law Faculty).

PUSU has been very active union in the past. The JP Movement in 70s showed vigorous student participation. Several noted leaders has been the product of this union. However, big responsibility awaits the new representatives. The academic calendar failure, frequent student unrest in the campus and host of other issues has greatly harmed the reputation of Patna University during the recent years.The biggest challenges of the PUSU would be to restore the old glories of the university.